Headshot Photographer Search Part 2

28 Mar

So here’s an update on my March 21st post.  You’ll find it very interesting.  So, either L.A. photographers are so overwhelmed by all their actor clients and they don’t need any new ones or I’ve just visited the Twilight Zone.

My other choice was a husband and wife duo known for making fabulous shots.  Supposedly, if you go to them and spend a $1000 you will get more auditions than you ever have your entire life.  A thousand bucks?! Yep, you heard me right.  Their website has amazing shots but I didn’t feel comfortable throwing that much dough.  Granted, I am willing to pay for high quality shots but geez, I’m a struggling actor here.  They are so sure of themselves and their work, that they state on their website that they do not meet actors beforehand because they get it right the first time.  Not so, said a few Yelp reviewers I read. I also found out the couple are now divorced and supposedly their shots aren’t as good as they used to be because they turned their business into a money machine.  Who knows, but after hearing all this plus researching other photographers, I figured I’d be OK without having to pay that amount of money.

Next, is a guy who has won awards through Backstage Reader’s Choice polls.  I liked him because like my second choice I discussed on my last post, he has actors in various looks on his website which showed their versatility.  Anyway, I emailed him and he said he was booked until May.  No worries, I said.  I’m still looking around.  Two or three days later, I finally heard back from his assistant who said I could come in the following Wednesday to meet with him in person.  I immediately emailed her back and gave her a time.  Do you know that was about two weeks ago and I never heard back?!  Crazy…

Lastly, is another photographer who refused to meet me in person.  He told me not to worry, that he wasn’t a pervert.  Um, why would you even say that?  That thought NEVER even crossed my mind!  I’m a smart actor who wants to meet first with a total stranger I’m paying hundreds of dollars to create headshots that will help get me in the door!  I need to meet you first to get a feel for who you are and if we can work well together.  DUH!  Anyway, he only offered to talk through Skype or over the phone.  Bad sign, says I.  Anyway, I decided to talk to him over the phone just to see what he’d have to say for himself.  When I called him last week, it went straight to voicemail so I left a message.  Final result: never heard back from him.

My advice to fellow actors getting new headshots: the shoot is about YOU NOT THE PHOTOGRAPHER.  If they are not willing to meet you beforehand or bother to call back, RUN!  If they can’t even do that for you, what are they going to do during the shoot? Don’t push yourself on them.  You deserve better because it’s your money and your career on the line. 

Leave a Reply

