Classic Stars Countdown Cont’d. 6-10

20 Mar

This is part two in my favorite actresses of the Golden Era countdown.  You can check out #11-15 from my post on March 16th.

6.Audrey Hepburn– Who doesn’t love Holly Golightly?  I was first introduced to Audrey and Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961) when I was 12 and flipping channels.  I fell in love with that movie.  Right after, I tuned into My Fair Lady (1964) and several years later The Children’s Hour (1961).  Audrey could do no wrong in my eyes!    I plan on seeing Sabrina and Funny Face very soon.

7.Katherine Hepburn– I LOVED this woman when I was a little kid because she played Jo March in Little Women (1933), Rose Sayer in The African Queen (1951) and Christina Drayton in Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner (1967).  As I got older, I discovered other actresses and their films but rediscovered my love for Kate’s work when I saw her in Alice Adams (1935).  I think the latter is her best role to date.

8.Jean Harlow– America’s FIRST blonde bombshell before Marilyn.  Jean is such a lovable sweetheart in all her films.  I love her personality and fun loving attitude.  Sadly she passed away from health problems at only 26 but her films will never die.  Dinner at Eight (1933), The Girl From Missouri (1934), Platinum Blonde (1931) and Bombshell (1933) are my personal favorites.

9.Marilyn Monroe– Well I don’t have to say much about this lady.  Everyone knows Marilyn Monroe because this woman knew how to sustain an IMAGE.  Sadly deceased since 1962, the media makes modern day society feel as though she is still with us.  Don’t Bother to Knock (1952) is my all-time favorite MM film because it goes against her normal sexpot type.  She plays a deranged babysitter out to kill.  If you don’t know her other films, don’t worry you can find ’em anywhere.

10.Lana Turner– As the old Hollywood fable goes, Lana was discovered in a drugstore/soda shop across the street from Hollywood High when a talent agent stumbled upon her and sign her a contract with MGM.  Ever since then and to this day, wannabe actors have flocked to L.A. to get “discovered” themselves.  Thanks, Lana! (sarcasm, j/k!)  My all-time favorite of hers: Imitation of Life (1959) about two mothers’ struggling relationships with their daughters.  Peyton Place (1957), The Bad and the Beautiful (1952) and the steamy The Postman Always Rings Twice (1946), in which she plots to murder her husband are all must-sees!

HONORABLE MENTIONS: Clara Bow, Jane Fonda, Marlene Dietrich, Joan Fontaine, Greer Garson, Mae West, Veronica Lake

One Response to “Classic Stars Countdown Cont’d. 6-10”

Leave a Reply

