Top Golden Age Actresses Ranked 11-15

16 Mar

Well if you’ve been reading my blog the last few months, you probably noticed I love and am obsessed with old movies!  I record movies on Turner Classic Movies weekly and I was ecstatic to see The Artist win best picture at the Oscars this year.  I’ve read tons of biographies on stars from Dorothy Dandridge to Natalie Wood and Jean Harlow.  They just don’t make movies like those anymore.  I’ve compiled a list of my top 15 Female Stars of Hollywood’s Golden Age countdown.  So check in every day to see who ranks on my list!

#11-#15

11. Carole Lombard– I saw my first Lombard films just last August during TCM’s Summer Under the Stars.  I was injured and held up in my bed all day so I got a chance to see this woman’s talent in a 24 hour marathon.  What a treat!  From My Man Godfrey (1936) to my personal favorite, Virtue (1932) this star shines!  She died in a plane crash sadly at only 33 years old.

12. June Allyson– Aww, June.  I loved her when I was a little bitty thing in my early years of watching classic movies.  Little Women (1949), Good News (1949) and Two Girls and a Sailor (1944) are films I treasure from my childhood.

13. Norma Shearer– She became a huge star during the Silent Era.  She and Joan Crawford despised each other because Crawford was jealous of MGM’s favoritism of Norma since she was married to studio exec Irving Thalberg.  “The Women” (1939) is one of the best movies of all-time and I especially love her early talkie “Let Us Be Gay” in 1930.  The latter film showcases women’s lib, before there was ever a term.  Norma’s husband leaves her for another and instead of living a depressed life, she gains strength and security in herself.

14. Loretta Young– While I’m not a fan of her as a person, fellow Catholic Loretta Young got knocked up with Clark Gable’s baby in the early 30s and “adopted” her daughter to hide the story from the press.  She refused to admit the truth until her autobiography was published after her death.  Nonetheless, she’s great in The Bishop’s Wife (1947) and especially in early pre-code film Man’s Castle (1933) with Spencer Tracy.  Quite a beauty in her younger years.

15. Miriam Hopkins– Ms. Hopkins’ heyday was in the 30’s when she rivaled Bette Davis because of Davis’ affair with her director husband Anatole Litvak.  Her acting is sometimes over the top, but she’s wonderful as tortured prostitute Ivy in Dr. Jekyl & Mr. Hyde (1931) and flighty actress Aunt Lily in The Children’s Hour (1961).

Honorable Mentions: Judy Garland, Doris Day, Olivia de Haviland, Vivian Leigh, Myrna Loy, Lauren Bacall, Ingrid Bergman

Leave a Reply

