Tennesse Williams: My Favorite Playwright

9 Mar

You know out of all the greats- Neil Simon, Arthur Miller, William Shakespeare…MY favorite is Mr. Williams.  I don’t know what it is- the dysfunctional characters, the scandalous plots, surprising twists- OK, all of the above.  The man was a genius.  He really exposed human flaws in a way that was so tantalizing and endearing at the same time.

I was watching “Suddenly, Last Summer” a few days ago for the hundredth time starring Liz Taylor, Monty Clift and Kate Hepburn.  That film was and still is truly amazing.  I want to see it on stage so badly.  When I was living in NYC a few years back, Gwenyth Paltrow’s mother Blythe Danner was playing Catherine Holly’s character in an Off-Broadway production.  My mom was in town visiting and we were going to see it but never did. 😦  I really regret that.

Tennessee Williams is a public figure I think Hollywood should create for a feature film like they did with “Capote.”  I would love to see his private life unfold.  He was truly ahead of his time in the 50s and 60s with plays like “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof” and “A Streetcar Named Desire.”  I also love “The Glass Menagerie.”

Oh and with all the remakes Hollywood create nowadays how about instead of “The Smurfs” or “21 Jump Street”, let’s see a new version of “Sweet Bird of Youth” or “A Streetcar Named Desire.”  Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

