My Oscar Picks & Predictions

26 Feb

It’s that time of the year, the OSCARS!  I’ve seen almost all of the films and ready to give my favorite picks as well as winner predictions.

Here are the nominees I would like to win:

BEST PICTURE- The Help or The Artist

BEST ACTOR- Jean Dujardin

BEST ACTRESS- Viola Davis

SUPPORTING ACTOR- Christopher Plummer

SUPPORTING ACTRESS- Octavia Spencer

BEST DIRECTOR- Michael Hazanavicius

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY- Bridesmaids or The Artist

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY-I don’t care in this one.

My predictions on who will win:

BEST PICTURE- This is completely up in the air. But I think one of the following will win: The Artist, The Descendants, Hugo or Midnight in Paris

BEST ACTOR- George Clooney (although underdog Jean Dujardin might surprise us)

BEST ACTRESS- Meryl Streep or Michelle Williams (Viola might surprise us as well, I hope)

SUPPORTING ACTOR- Christopher Plummer or Jonah Hill

SUPPORTING ACTRESS- Octavia Spencer

BEST DIRECTOR- Alexander Payne or Michael Hazanavicius

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY- Midnight in Paris or The Artist

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY- The Descendants

IN CONCLUSON

I’m crossing my fingers for “The Artist” and “The Help.”  They were my two favorite movies of the year.  I’m a huge classic film fan so it was a pleasure to watch an entertaining silent movie.  There are no words to describe “The Help.”  It is a story that needed to be told and it did the book justice.

“The Descendants” was extremely disappointing to me.  I felt the pacing was incredibly slow and I don’t understand the hype about Clooney’s performance.  Total bore.  “The Iron Lady” was also hard to watch.  Meryl is one of my favorite actresses but I don’t think she should win for this one.  Let somebody new and from a good film grab the Oscar this year.  “Moneyball” wasn’t my kind of film either but Brad Pitt was great as always.  Enjoy the show!

Leave a Reply

