This ‘n That

20 Feb

Man, I haven’t been on here for minute!  I had a huge allergy attack so anti-histamines have made me groggy the past few days.  Anyway, it’s President’s Day so I’m spending the holiday getting better and working on my audition scene for tonight.  Yep, I’m starting new on-camera audition technique classes for the next 12 weeks and super excited.  The scene is from “Kramer vs. Kramer” and boy, is it intense.  I can see why my teacher picked it out because it’s a hard scene to do when you’re confined to chair and a camera is zoomed into only your face!

This weekend I started Mardi Gras early at The Farmers Market located by the Grove.  They had a zydeco band playing music and people were throwing beads.  There’s a Creole/Cajun restaurant there, too and unfortunately their gumbo sucked. 😦  But the beignets and King Cake were tasty.  I’ll be celebrating even more tomorrow night on Fat Tuesday.

I also attended another casting director workshop this past weekend.  Instead of preparing our own material, this casting director gave us scenes with partners and a cold read.  I really liked the scene but unfortunately my partner was not too great…;p   Sam Christensen studio had their monthly follow-up meeting last night and it was ah-mazing as usual.  Sam specializes in helping actors find their brand and how to sell themselves.  It really motivated me to continue to use the work we did in his seminar in my everyday life.

I’m super excited about tomorrow.  Not just because it’s Mardi Gras, but I’ll be back working with the AFI students for their lighting class.  Last week was awesome because I worked with a huge director of cinematography in mega films such as “Wedding Crashers” and we shot a car commercial.  If I can, I’ll post it up here for everyone to see.

Earlier this month I finally opened up a Google Plus account but I still can’t figure that thing out!

Have a great President’ Day and Mardi Gras! xo

 

Leave a Reply

